Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Arizona Reps Split 5-4 - NOT Along Party Lines - On USA Freedom Act Ending NSA Bulk Metadata Collection

Arizona's delegation split 5-4 as the U.S. House of Representatives overwhelmingly passed (338-88) the USA Freedom Act ending bulk controversial (and, possibly illegal) metadata collection.  The split was not along party lines.

The five Arizona Reps voting "aye" were Ann Kirkpatrick (D-CD1), Martha McSally (R-CD2), Ruben Gallego (D-CD7), Trent Franks (R-CD8) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-CD9).

The other four Reps voted "nay": Raul Grijalva (D-CD3), Paul Gosar (R-CD4), David Schweikert (R-CD5), and Matt Salmon (R-CD6).

Only 47 Republicans and 41 Democrats voted against the measure.  (So, Arizona's delegation was much more opposed than the rest of Congress.)

Here is the (lengthy) text of the bill, which will now move to the Senate.  Some of the provisions of the Patriot Act - passed after the 9/11 attacks - expire at the end of this month.

We welcome your comments about this post. Or, if you have something unrelated on your mind, please e-mail to info-at-arizonaspolitics-dot-com or call 602-799-7025. Thanks.

No comments: