Monday, January 22, 2018

Arizona House Delegation Splits On Measure To End Government Shutdown...Not Along Party Lines

Arizona's eight members of the U.S. House of Representatives were evenly split this afternoon on the measure to end the government shutdown. However, the split was not along party lines.

The House voted 266-150 to re-fund the government for the next two weeks. The Senate approved it earlier today by an 81-18 vote.

Only 6 House Republicans voted against the measure (221-6). Two of them are from Arizona. Reps. Paul Gosar (R-CD4) and Andy Biggs (R-CD5) voted no because they opposed any temporary funding measure.

The Democratic side was more closely divided.  45 Democrats voted in favor, 144 were opposed. From Arizona, Reps. Tom O'Halleran (D-CD1) and Kyrsten Sinema (D-CD9) voted "aye". The other two Democrats - Reps. Raul Grijalva (D-CD3) and Ruben Gallego (D-CD7) voted against it because they did not believe that the Senate Democrats had reached a good deal with the Republicans to obtain protection for DACA recipients.

We welcome your comments about this post. Or, if you have something unrelated on your mind, please e-mail to info-at-arizonaspolitics-dot-com or call 602-799-7025. Thanks.

No comments: